Digital Citizenship in the classroom: Final Project

I have had a very productive week of getting into my senior classes to talk about digital citizenship. Two years ago, I was lucky enough to take ECI 831 from Alec and Katia. One of the lessons focused on teaching digital citizenship.

I really enjoyed Alec and Katia’s lesson from ECI 831 and took some pointers to adapt it to meet the needs of students in Grades 6-8. I really wanted to stress the importance of the following strands of Digital Citizenship:

  1. Content
  2. Copyright/Copyleft
  3. Netiquette
  4. Identity
  5. Activism

With the adoption of the new Digital Citizenship Education in Saskatchewan Schools, I decided to take those 5 strands and apply them to Ribble’s 9 elements of Digital Citizenship. So, as I am teaching to the students, the teachers will be going over the continuum to really understand what I am teaching the students and what the expectations of them is when expecting students to use technology in school.

This week, I’ve presented in two classrooms: Grade 8 French Immersion and Grade 7 English (only 7 more classes to go – some of the downfalls of teaching at my school). In both 90 minute presentations, I was only able to talk about what Digital Citizenship is, content and Copyright/Copyleft. The feedback has been very positive from both the teachers and students. In fact, I was invited back to help the students with a project they are working on that requires images. They want me to help them use Creative Commons so that they are doing it properly! That is a huge plus in my books!

One of the activities I have the students do is come up with a synonym for the word “Digital” and another for the word “Citizenship” or “Citizen”. Students came up with some fabulous examples. The video below is the activity that I did with the Grade 8 class.

The second video is a story I share with the classes about my first experience with online gaming and my son playing World of Tanks.

Each class will be video taped at different points of the presentation and then I will put together a video outlining my venture into the world of Digital Citizenship with students.

P.S. – I really don’t like the sound of my own voice…

2 thoughts on “Digital Citizenship in the classroom: Final Project

  1. Looks like you are on a role! I really liked your personal story of your son being online and talking with a gamer and using that as a teachable moment. I find when we connect our teaching to our personal lives students tend to listen just a little more attentively!

Leave a Reply

